New Maya Rendering UI Testing!

After some careful thought and a lot of tedious work by developers Brenton and Corey (mental core), you can find a Maya Render Settings UI for testing. Barton Gawboy is project management. The purpose of this UI is to provide a more official/intended workflow for mental ray. This also means makers of UIs for other packages can use this as a template for features on modern mental ray (3.10 and future).

This UI is in an early phase and should not be used for production. Currently the Quality settings have been re-worked to provide a simpler interface and a modern workflow for using mental ray in Maya. Over time we will be improving on this (light and passes tabs to be re-worked) and adding documentation. We recommend Maya 2013 SP1.

You can find the scripts on the Google Code page: Maya Render Settings UI

A further discussion can be found on the ARC forum (must be a member): Maya Options UI

About David

I am a VFX artist that specializes in Lighting and Rendering. I spend a fair amount of my time supplying clients with artistic solutions as well as technology solutions. With a background in fine art and technical animation training, I strive to bridge the divide between the artist and technologist.

Posted on August 10, 2012, in Developer, Example, maya, Optimization, scripts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. I just want to thank Brenton, Corey and David for their work and also for this blog!
    I’m a recent graduate from Vancouver Film School and while doing my final project I had to face huge render times due some particular shaders with painted maps in the glossiness of refraction and other render suicides.

    Thanks to the information in this blog about Unified Sampling, Maya Render Settings UI and FG Shooter I was able to lower down my render times under 45 minutes per frame with no flickering. Before using Unified Sampling, my render times where several hours per frame (some even 4 hours due to high sampling to avoid flickering).

    To my surprise, I had no flickering at all in very fine hair even though my quality settings were not very high.

    I’ve used Maya 2012 because it was the one available for us at school sohad to deal with some issues with the depth pass.

    So again, thank you so much because the information you are posting in this blog. It has save my final project.

    Congratulations for all the work you are doing!

    Esther Lopez

    • Thanks a lot Esther! We’re glad it helped. And just so everyone can get an idea of what you made I’ll drop a link here:

      Looks great!

      Be sure and spread the blog around to your classmates!

      • Thank you so much, also fro posting my video!

        The information in this blog is already more than spread!.

        The idea that Unified Sampling might help me to solve my render issues came from my great lighting teacher at VFS, Craig Shiells. He encouraged me to learn about it and experiment with it to see if it could help. After playing with it for a while, the results in quality and render times where great.

        I gathered all my notes about all the advantages, settings and also problems in my experience and he taught a class about Unified Sampling in the following term. Now there are a bunch of students using Unified Sampling and Maya Render Settings UI for their final projects.

  2. Hello,
    I just had a quick question as to whether or not these scripts are for some reason Mac only. I ran each from the script editor and nothing changed.
    -Thank you

  3. hi David,

    I wonder if you guys can add iray modes to the UI, like “hybrid”, “CPU”, “GPU”, or even further “number of threads” used by iray or number of bounce lights and resolution.
    thanks alot for your effort and care….

  4. Hi, I’m registered to the ARC forum, but I’m not able to visit the thread you linked in your post: can you tell me why?

    Can you tell me which one of this two scripts do you suggests?
    1. http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/downloads/scripts-plugins/rendering/mental-ray/c/mentalray-3-9-native-integration/

    2. http://code.google.com/p/maya-render-settings-mental-ray/

    • I would use the one from Google code. Preferably with Maya 2013

      • the 1st script(the one in creativecrash.com) has a native IBL setting. Just curious to what is it suppose to do?

      • This is the Native IBL (Builtin IBL) I will be discussing it later. We tend to prefer it for a few things that the user_ibl does not do. You can read about the options in the documentation.

        Start here: http://docs.autodesk.com/MENTALRAY/2013/ENU/mental-ray-help/

        Then Go To: mental ray manual > Scene Entities:Options > Image-Based Lighting

        The typical mode of usage is “Automatic” Remember to use the string option for “light relative scale” 0.318 like you would for the user_ibl_env shader as explained in the post.

      • Thank you for the fast answer!

      • that’s great. Would love to try native IBL out to test out my preview renders, especially with GI on. I find it takes forever to render with IBL and GI on in mental ray for maya. Just wondering why this native ibl settings wasn’t implemented in the mr_rendersettings .2 , and if mental core has this setting available in it?

        how about the environment lighting cache and quality strings all related to the turning on native IBL, have they already been stringed and available inside midefault options for tweaking or will the user have to input the strings themselves.?

      • Would you also happen to know if there’s a setting to control the IBL light rig that gets generated whenever you tick on “emit light” from the IBL settings. I understand it creates a bunch of directional lights per pixel according to the IBL texture, this makes your scene really look like it’s being lit by the IBL. Problem is there’s no option to control specific lights that were generated. I can’t even control the key light, as the only setting available to control how strong the light source of the IBL would be is from the color gain of the texture itself. Changing this just decreases the intensity of all lights.

      • I would use the native IBL and Final Gather. Not sure the reason to use photons unless you’re generating caustics.

        The Native IBL will generate photons but at a fixed amount. There’s not a way to export it differently for now.

        The Maya “emit light” option is not as good. It separates the lighting components into a sort-of veroni pattern of importance and uses that to light. It doesn’t make actual directional lights to manipulate in Maya (Nor does it export them last time I checked.)

      • I see, so you mean i should use the native IBL instead of emit light option to light my scene with my IBL image. I want to download your script from this site . http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/downloads/scripts-plugins/rendering/mental-ray/c/mentalray-3-9-native-integration/

        to use the native IBL, but what if im already using mr_render settings .2, could that script still work together with it?

      • I would use only one script at a time. You can try either and see what is to your liking. The Creative Crash script isn’t ours but has been used for some time in Maya 2012.

        It does expose a lot more controls though which may make it more confusing.

      • thanks, i will try it. I just want to see how much better of a result i can get with the native ibl rendering instead of emit light option with my IBL.

      • Just wondering if mentalcore has the native IBL option already built into it’s settings? If not, would you prefer i use the script containing the native IBL mentioned here over mental core for lighting my hdris.

      • Mental Core has this feature already I believe. If you are using Mental Core, I would not use the Google Code UI. Mental Core has already exposed many of these controls. The Google project is for users that have not invested in a modern integration.

  5. Never mind.. I found out it doesnt work with SAP.. My Bad

    • Autodesk changed how the scripts work and broke compatibility. It would mean maintaining two sets of scripts. We haven’t had time to generate something new to maintain at this point. :-\

  1. Pingback: Updated UI Version « elemental ray

  2. Pingback: Maya 2014 “Unfold” Event | elemental ray

Leave a Reply

